POP Life: The Art of RAD

Blondes DO Have More Fun_blonds_rad_robert a. delgadillo ©2013 RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo

Blondes DO Have More Fun_blonds_rad_robert a. delgadillo
©2013 RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo

RAD (Robert A. Delgadillo) Celebrates the World of Pop Culture.

POP LIFE

“As far back as I can remember, two things that have always been consistent with me have been my need to create art and my obsession with all that is considered pop culture. Growing up in a home with immigrant parents, who had no background or real exposure to the art world, I found myself feeling somewhat like an alien child who had been delivered from another galaxy and dropped onto the doorstep of my family in a rough low-income neighborhood in Los Angeles. I was the ultimate misfit not fitting in with my relatives or with anyone on my street.

While other children my age played with toys and showed an interest in child-age-appropriate things, I was the odd ball memorized in front of the television set watching old movies or sitting quietly across the room observing and sketching people around me.  Always a loner, I spent much of my childhood alone in my room daydreaming and sketching the days away.  I had difficulty relating to my surroundings and could not understand why things in my world could not be more like the movies.

Fascinated with beauty and aesthetics, I yearned for perfection.  Whether it was the presentation of food, my personal appearance or something as  uncomplicated as choosing a Halloween costume for an elementary school party, everything in my day-to-day life became a huge production.

As my teen years approached, my interest in Hollywood and fashion intensified.  I not only admired screen idols and pop stars, I studied them.  Marilyn Monroe, James Dean, Michael Jackson and Alfred Hitchcock characters became my friends.  These people I felt a deep connection with and not my peers in school or people in my social circle.

That connection I felt and developed with the world of celebrity and pop culture is one that would intensify with time and ultimately become the basis for the art I now create. My drawings not only celebrate this world of glamour and glitz but also document events; I see them as having a time capsule effect.  The intention with my artwork is to both entertain and inform, to infuse the viewer with a little bit of the energy and spark that the subject matter exudes.  In short my existence has been and continues to be a POP Life.”

 ©2013 RAD _ Robert A. Delgadillo All images are copyrighted and the intellectual property of RAD Robert A. Delgadillo.  ©RAD _Robert A. Delgadillo.  All Rights Reserved.

her majesty_madonna_rad_robert-a-delgadillo ©RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo. All Rights Reserved.

Her Majesty_Madonna_RAD_Robert-A-Delgadillo
©RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo. All Rights Reserved.

RAD Spice_by RAD Robert A. Delgadillo ©2013 RAD Robert A. Delgadillo

RAD Spice_by RAD Robert A. Delgadillo ©2013 RAD Robert A. Delgadillo_All Rights Reserved

rihanna_rad_robert a. delgadillo ©2013 RAD Robert A. Delgadillo

Rihanna_RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo ©2013 RAD Robert A. Delgadillo_All Rights Reserved

celia cruz_azucar_rad_robert a. delgadillo ©RAD Robert A. Delgadillo

Celia Cruz_Azucar!_RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo ©RAD Robert A. Delgadillo_All Rights Reserved

pillow talking_rad_robert a. delgadillo  ©2013 rad robert a. delgadillo

Pillow Talking_RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo ©2013 RAD Robert A. Delgadillo_All Rights Reserved

katy perry_rad_robert a. delgadillo_poplife ©2013 rad

Katy Perry_RAD_Robert A. Delgadillo_poplife ©2013 RAD Robert A. Delgadillo. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

